Review
All published reviews, rated
Data last checked: · how we verify numbers
On this page
- The index
- One Board Family — the only independent written review
- Bower’s Game Corner — the only low grade, timed to day 2 of the campaign
- Boardgames With Joe — three videos, collected by the campaign itself
- The aggregation site shows how thin coverage really is
- The press “reviews” are the campaign’s own marketing block
- What’s still missing
- Where this index hands off
As of 13 October 2026, the entire published review record for Defenders of Hogwarts is: one independent written review — recommended with reservations, from a publisher-supplied copy; one harsh video critique, a D− issued while the Kickstarter was live; three videos collected by the campaign itself; and press articles quoting “reviews” that are actually the campaign’s own marketing. Here is every entry, graded for how far you can trust it [our check].
Scope note
We have not played Defenders of Hogwarts. This page is an index and sourcing audit, not a verdict: it records who reviewed the game, what each reviewer was working from, and what nobody has reviewed at all. Scores below belong to their reviewers, never to us. All dates and links were re-checked on 13 October 2026.
The index
| Reviewer | Type | Date | Verdict | Sample disclosure | Sourcing quality |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| One Board Family (Ryan Gutowski) | Written, long-form review | 10 Sep 2026 | Recommended, with reservations | Yes — publisher-supplied, disclosed by the reviewer | The only independent long-form written review in existence; describes a pre-fulfilment production sample, not a retail copy |
| Bower’s Game Corner | Video critique | 1 Jul 2026 | D− | Not stated | Independent and unsparing, but issued on day 2 of the campaign — it judges the pitch and operations as much as the product |
| Bower’s Game Corner (recut) | Video short | Jul 2026 | D− (recut) | Not stated | The same verdict in short-form; adds no new material |
| Boardgames With Joe | Video unboxing + tutorial + playthrough | 9, 14 & 18 Jul 2026 | None — demo format | Not stated | All three videos sit in the campaign’s own “Videos & Reviews” section — quasi-official placement, limited independence |
| CBR & ScreenRant (press) | News articles citing “reviews” | 31 Aug & 1 Sep 2026; CBR updated 1 Oct | All praise — but not reviews | None involved | The quoted lines come from the campaign page’s own marketing block; the outlets never name who said them |
One external score is deliberately absent from this table: BoardGameGeek’s 5.066 / 10. It is not a review — 89% of its 138 votes sit on two poles of a boycott-versus-fans score war — so it gets its own page: why BGG shows 5.07.
One Board Family — the only independent written review
Ryan Gutowski’s review, published 10 September 2026, is the single long-form independent verdict in the record, and the only source that engages with the finished game’s actual play rather than its pitch [our check]. Its own transparency note is worth reading first: “This game was provided to us by the publisher for review.” So the sample was publisher-supplied — disclosed by One Board Family themselves — and the game had not begun shipping when the review ran; fulfilment started in October 2026 [official].
The verdict lands between the poles:
“Is Defenders of Hogwarts a good deck building game? Absolutely. Is it a great deck building game? This response will depend on how much you love the source material.”
— Ryan Gutowski, One Board Family, 10 September 2026.
“Newer gamers who enjoy Harry Potter will really enjoy this game. The game may not be a great fit for more seasoned gamers who are just looking for a really well crafted deck builder.”
— Ryan Gutowski, One Board Family, 10 September 2026.
Sourcing quality, summarised: independent outlet, disclosed sample, pre-fulfilment timing, and the only written review of any length. What it cannot tell you is how a retail-bought, mass-produced copy plays — no review in this index can [our analysis].
Bower’s Game Corner — the only low grade, timed to day 2 of the campaign
The 1 July 2026 video from Bower’s Game Corner is the record’s negative pole — graded D− — and the only named review with nothing good to say about the operation. Its case: a gameplay video missing until backers had pressed for one; a $28 (£21) Deluxe Box Sleeve add-on; and a card pool read as thin — roughly one hundred illustrated cards — for a deck-builder [independent video].
“Feels like Baby’s first Kickstarter to me… I would wait until retail or I would at the bare minimum force their hand to put out a gameplay video.”
— Bower’s Game Corner, video critique, 1 July 2026.
Scope note
Time-stamp the caveat before you repeat the D−: the campaign ran 30 June – 23 July 2026, so the video went up on its second day — before any copy shipped and before final components were confirmed. It is a judgement of the pitch, the campaign operations and early gameplay footage, not of the finished, mass-produced game. A recut short video from July 2026 repeats the same verdict with no new material.
Sourcing quality, summarised: genuinely independent — Bower’s Game Corner appears nowhere in the campaign’s curated praise — and the sharpest published scepticism on record; but its scope is the campaign, and its sample situation is unverified [our analysis].
Boardgames With Joe — three videos, collected by the campaign itself
The most-featured external creator is Boardgames With Joe, whose three videos went up during the campaign: an unboxing on 9 July, a tutorial on 14 July, and a playthrough on 18 July 2026 [our check]. All three sit in the Kickstarter page’s own “Videos & Reviews” section — the campaign collecting content about itself, which is as close to an official endorsement as video coverage gets. The format is unboxing, teaching and demonstration; there is no verdict or score to quote.
Sourcing quality, summarised: limited independence. We could not verify whether a copy or any payment changed hands, only where the videos ended up. And Joe’s voice also appears in the campaign’s own curated quote block — “We finally have not only a fully original title in this wonderful universe but it’s actually a fun competitive game with some depth” — selected by the publisher, which tells you something about how both sides of the arrangement value the coverage [our snapshot of the campaign page, 12 October 2026].
The aggregation site shows how thin coverage really is
BoardGameVideo, a video aggregation site, lists exactly four videos for Defenders of Hogwarts: one review, one tutorial, one playthrough, one unboxing [our check, 13 October 2026]. Map those four onto the index and they are Bower’s critique plus Boardgames With Joe’s three collab videos. The entire indexed video record of this game traces to two channels. That scarcity is a fact about the game’s publicity, not a consensus about its quality — absence of coverage means nothing either way [our analysis].
The press “reviews” are the campaign’s own marketing block
Three outlets ran glowing quotes credited to unnamed “reviewers”: CBR on 31 August 2026, ScreenRant on 1 September 2026, and CBR again in an updated piece on 1 October. The two lines both trace to one place — the Kickstarter page’s own marketing block, where the publisher curates five short praise quotes from chosen social accounts [our snapshot of the campaign page]. The originals are credited there to two names the press never includes:
“Hands down the best Harry Potter board game I’ve played. The gameplay is fantastic, the components are stunning, and every decision feels magical.”
— Woo Sung Board Games (@woosung.boardgames), quote block on the Kickstarter campaign page.
“As a fan of both the Harry Potter franchise and MinaLima’s artwork, I could not wait to get this to the table. Defenders of Hogwarts brings a fresh look and intriguing gameplay to a beloved fantasy world.”
— The Meeple Marathon (@themeeplemarathon), quote block on the Kickstarter campaign page.
The correction is a labelling one, not an accusation: these are real sentences from real creators, but they were selected by the campaign they praise, and no outlet that recycled them presented that origin. On this site they count as marketing, not review coverage [our analysis]. CBR and ScreenRant are not the campaign’s only press; the wider wave of announcement articles — several of which mislabelled the game an RPG — is a separate editorial subject we track outside this index.
What’s still missing
- Post-delivery hands-on reviews: none exist. Fulfilment began in October 2026 [official]; the only written review predates it and rests on a publisher sample. As of our check, no outlet has reviewed a retail-bought, mass-produced copy — the single biggest gap in this record.
- Counter-reviews to Bower’s D−: none exist. No named reviewer has answered Bower’s critique anywhere we checked. The D− is what Bower judged; the game it describes is now shipping to backers, and the first played counter-verdicts would be from hands that actually hold it.
- Non-English reviews: none found. Every review in this index is English-language; we found no published review in any other language [our check].
This page updates the moment either gap closes — a post-delivery review or a named response to the D− would both change the index materially.
Where this index hands off
The verdicts above are compressed arguments; their substance is unpacked with sources in our pros-and-cons list, the buy-or-skip decision by buyer type in our honest verdict, and the misleading 5.07 in our BGG score explainer. Read in that order, the review record — thin as it is — settles every question it can reach.
Sources
One Board Family — Ryan Gutowski, written review, 10 September 2026, with the reviewer’s own disclosure “This game was provided to us by the publisher for review”: oneboardfamily.com/defenders-of-hogwarts-review. Bower’s Game Corner — video critique (D−), 1 July 2026: youtube.com/watch?v=F0-BXF27wHU; recut short video, July 2026: youtube.com/watch?v=v0ADIvEqu8. Boardgames With Joe — unboxing 9 July: youtube.com/watch?v=NUW0I-j0ZcE; tutorial 14 July: youtube.com/watch?v=AKdsfwSJsv8; playthrough 18 July: youtube.com/watch?v=sch8Mj8qork; all three also listed in the campaign’s “Videos & Reviews” section. Video-coverage aggregation, four videos indexed: boardgamevideo.com/games/471198-defenders-of-hogwarts. Kickstarter campaign page (campaign window 30 June – 23 July 2026; “Videos & Reviews” section; publisher-curated praise block incl. Woo Sung Board Games and The Meeple Marathon): kickstarter.com/projects/minalima/defenders-of-hogwarts. Press recycles of that block: CBR, Emma Singer, 31 August 2026: cbr.com/harry-potter-official-new-game-october-2026; ScreenRant, Angharad Redden, 1 September 2026: screenrant.com/harry-potter-defenders-hogwarts-october-2026-release-psa; CBR, Emma Singer, updated 1 October 2026: cbr.com/harry-potter-official-new-game-release-october-2026. Campaign-page snapshot for the quote-block attribution taken 12 October 2026.